Guest Post- Vicki

Guest Post Today from Vicki. She talks about her daughter wanting to become a vegetarian and how that shifted her view on food. We are truly inspired by Vicki!

37525_1513041501562_6658347_n

Life should not be about eating. It should be about living, and keeping your body fueled to perform at its best. I would like to say that this is how I became a vegetarian, but that would be a stretch of the truth.

I became a vegetarian when my youngest daughter, at the age of 13, decided that she no longer wanted to eat meat. I needed to find a way make sure she was getting the proper amounts of protein so that her growing body was healthy. So I read. I researched. I also must admit, the thought of making two variations of the same meal every day had a lot to do with me becoming a vegetarian in the beginning. I am a lazy cook. I began making the basic vegetarian meals, like salads with cheese, veggie burgers, meatless chilis and soups.

I discovered that I liked this food. We dined at a few vegetarian restaurants. I wanted to know how to cook those delicious meals. As I said I am a lazy cook, and if it isn’t easy, I am not going to do it. I am FINALLY going to buy myself a juicer/food processor. I think that will inspire me a lot in the kitchen, as right now I still am not too creative in the kitchen. I DO make a slamming vegetarian Pumpkin Lasagna, and have found many ways to enjoy eggplant. Slowly but surely, I will get to the next level in my kitchen. Every now and then I will try something new… as long as it is easy!!!

It has been three years now since I have given up meat and I know it was the best thing I have ever done. I feel better. People ask me will I ever go back to eating meat. I know without a doubt I will not. To me, it is like poison. I cannot imagine having meat inside my body.

There is also a whole metaphysical link to vegetarianism. Go to www.britishmeat.com/49htm. This list pretty much sums up how I feel. Suffice it to say that meat and processed food are not for me.

My next goal is to slowly Vegan-ize my diet. I now eat fake cheese. It will take tiny steps but I will get there. My daughter’s inspiration helps. She lives with me and her health and well-being, as well as my own, are my responsibility. Hopefully by the time she becomes an adult, I will be set in my healthy lifestyle!

I would like to leave you with my motto: Eat to live. Fuel your body and your mind. Also I would like to recommend two of my favorite books ever on nutrition: “Addressing the GOO” by Lisa Bonnice and “Eat to Live” by Dr. Joel Fuhrman.
These books helped me immensely and still do.

We hope you enjoy these Guest Posts. Love~ Chandra and Liv

2 thoughts on “Guest Post- Vicki

  1. Pingback: A vegetarian view on horses and burgers/ Eine vegetarische Ansicht ueber Pferde und Hackfleischbaellchen « phoenixrisesagain

  2. That’s Great Vicki! There is more awareness now, I know when my daughter was growing up and there were “meat” issues in our house, it was not as easy to be connected with those or get information on vegetarian or vegen lifestyle. I am talking the age of no computers (yes, Liv you are that old!), no internet and a somewhat isolated living circumstances (military posts). If we could have researched it more, had support (even a juicer support!) things would have been a lot calmer in our house. Liv, was one who from the age of toddler did not like meat. I am just happy now that she is embracing her healthy eating and creativity! And thanks for letting us know that you can be a “lazy” cook and still choose to eat a healthy way.

Leave a Reply

