Guest Post~ The Lovely Dee

Guest Post today from Dee~ She is an amazing lady who works magic with photographs  (above is not her photo). Enjoy!

7_Farmers-Market

Hi, I’m a 47 year old single Mom, who actually lives the dream of being professional photographer for the Army. I chose to make a change in my life for – me. * gasp * I go by Dee, and I’m one of those super happy and truly love people, and this is my journey into a much healthier lifestyle.

As I sit outside and enjoy the incredible sun on what has been a rare occasion here in Germany, I remember why I chose to change my lifestyle for a healthier one. I eat better. I appreciate the taste of food again. It began as a hope, no a dream, that I could and would become healthier. It’s allowed me to think clearer and appreciate so much in life.

About 10 to 12 years ago I started thinking about changing my life and becoming a vegetarian, or at least being more conscious about what goes into my body. Well, that’s all I did was think about it. Then, two years ago I chose to take that last step towards becoming a better me.

I honestly missed the taste of home cooked food, and vegetables. Growing up we ate at home 99% of the time. My Dad truly dislikes eating out. So, my Mom would come home from work and slave over a hot stove and oven for us to have a home cooked meal, I was usually at her side chopping, cutting, slicing and tasting. Unless it was summer. Then, my Dad would break out the barbeque pit and cook for us. Life was good. Food was just better back then, or so I thought. See, I grew up, and got to where I ate out all the time when I lived in America. We ate at fast food places most of the time. I could feel my body dying. I had three heart attacks, I survived cancer twice, and I was diagnosed with fibromyalgia. Well, that was it. It was on.

So, since I chose to live this lifestyle now for two years, I’ve never been happier. I’ve discovered new vegetables, but more aptly I’ve rediscovered taste, and more willing to try new things. It’s awesome to live here in Europe, where in the spring and summer there are food markets almost every weekend in a city. The opportunity to talk with the farmers and get new recipes is wonderful. My favorite has to be with a new bean that I was shown while in Mannheim’s farmer’s market in 2011. The farmer’s wife showed me a purple bean. Yes! The beans were purple and beautiful. I couldn’t wait to get home and try them. The recipe was super simple as well. I’ll share it later.
I have also discovered eggplant steak, and mushroom burgers, and carrot fries. Just color me happy!

I can say with complete honesty, this Texas girl is completely in love with two things in life – vegetables, and living in Europe. If you’ve ever wanted to rediscover taste – add more vegetables to your life, and don’t be afraid to experiment.

Leave a Reply

